Workplace Frustrations

So today was one of those days that just sucked. For absolutely no real reason. Well, really I think it was because I’m really hating my workplace and my boss right now. I’m very much over it.  I think I can put up with a lot of stuff in the workplace, but one thing I can not handle is not being listened too. I have an ever increasing workload. It’s piling up. Basically I have a month’s worth of work to do. Why you may ask? Well because for the last month I have spent my time doing the job of everyone else. I haven’t had time to do my own work. And does my boss care? No, it seems not.

Every single time I try to talk to her about it, and say no I can’t do that I have so much of my own work left to do including x, y, and z she completely ignores me and tells me to go and do something else, for someone else. And I’ve had enough. She doesn’t seem to understand exactly how much work I have, and today I felt like such an incompetent idiot, when the big boss asked to see the plans for next year.  Ah, about that. I haven’t had the freaking time to do it as I’ve been too busy covering for every other team member. I’m so damn sick of it, and so sick of chasing my tail and not getting anywhere.

The day just got worse from their, with so many people hassling me all day about the lack of staffing. I’m sorry but that’s not my job. I don’t do  the rosters. Go speak to the managers. What the hell do they want me to do about it? Much as I might want to, especially if it will get them off my back, I can’t manufacture more staff.  I can’t solve their problems. I don’t have the time. I don’t even have the time to solve my own god damn problems, what makes them think I’ll be able to solve theirs?  I feel like banging my head against the wall. And screaming. And crying. All at the same time. I’m fed up, frustrated and I don’t know what to do with all of these emotions.

In fact, the more I think about it, the more I wonder why the hell I’m in this job. Why the hell do I do it. And the answer is I don’t really know. I stayed because I liked the work itself/ most of the people I work with/ I was comfortable and it was enough. But it’s no longer enough. And my liking for my coworkers is diminishing fast. So I guess it is time to dust out the old resume and find something a bit more fun. A bit more stimulating. A bit more challenging.  I hate applying for jobs but the time has come.

Leave a comment