Blink and you’ll miss it!

And just like that, I’ve finished four weeks of medical school! Where has the time gone? I can’t quite believe I’m preparing to start week 5.  In all honesty, I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.  It’s been a while since I studied, and even then I was never the best student.  I feel like I’m falling behind already, and that nothing is sinking in.  I feel like I know nothing, while everyone around me, does.

I think part of the problem stems down to my PBL group, who seem exceptionally switched on, with a wealth of experience.  One is from allied health with many years experience, one a first year repeater who has done all of these cases before, a couple of recent biomed grads who seem on top of it all, and a few others who don’t say much (so are probably in the same boat as I am).  I seem to spend so much of my time working on my PBL question for the week, that it doesn’t leave much room for anything else.

I wonder where I’ll find the time to learn all I need to learn.  I knew that I would be exposed to a great deal of information quickly, but I’m not sure I quite comprehended how much, and making the links between the segregated areas is proving a little challenging at the moment.   Add to that, I’m really not sure how much I’m supposed to be doing.

This is most evident in my clinical coaching sessions.  So far, we’ve only covered history taking, but next week we start in on the CVS exam.  I’m really hoping things pick up with the examination part, because I’m feeling so lost in history taking.  Part of the problem is the coach we have has never taught clinical coaching at my university before, and doesn’t really seem to know what’s going on.  He’s also from another country, and while he seems nice enough, he waffles, and keeps relating everything back to his own country.

If that weren’t enough, because he doesn’t seem to know what he’s doing I am really feeling the “teach yourself medicine” come through in this course.  To be honest, I expected it with the medical sciences, but I didn’t with clinical skills.  In our first real session, he walked into the room, told us he had other stuff to do, and would be back in 30 minutes. In the meantime we should practice CVS history taking on each other and then he’d see how we were going when he came back.

IN OUR FIRST SESSION.  So it was a mad scramble to try and figure out what the hell we were supposed to do from our guidebook provided by the university.  He then came back, and critiqued us all with rather unhelpful advice, asking why we didn’t ask about X, Y, Z conditions none of had heard of before, while rambling on with irrelevant stories from back in his home country.

I guess I should look at it from the perspective that this is what a life in medicine entails so I should get used to it now, but damn it, I’m really disliking clinical coaching which I thought would be the best part of the course.  I’m lost and confused and overwhelmed by the whole course at the moment.

4 thoughts on “Blink and you’ll miss it!

  1. Hi Kinkles,
    Grats for starting med! I think a lot of med courses definitely have a varying element of ‘teach yourself medicine’. Don’t worry too much about it. You’ll develop your own style of history taking soon enough. I hope you’re enjoying med otherwise.

    ace

    • Thanks Acey! There seems to be a lot more “teach yourself” then I was expecting – particularly when it comes to the clinical side of things. I’ve adapted though and have made Talley and O’Connor my new bible. Generally I’m enjoying it I think, when I’m not feeling completely overwhelmed and a little dense. 😉

  2. I haven’t checked your blog for awhile, bad George! If you visit soon/when I see you, I’ve got some stuff that might make it a little bit easier. We all have resources we should share, some of which are different from UQ.

  3. Haha, welcome to medical school. You get used to it 🙂

    If you need a hand with any of the clinical stuff Im more than happy to help out! Just hit me up on facebook.

    jb!

Leave a Reply

