Officially a Medical Student

Hello world! In case anyone was wondering, I am indeed alive and well.  I’m just a very bad blogger.  Sometimes life gets in the way, and other days I’m not quite sure how to say what I want to say.  In the last couple of months I have started and discarded numerous posts for various reasons.

I imagine most of you know by now that in the end, the choice I made was to accept the place at the local medical school.  Throughout the decision making process my heart was telling me to accept the interstate place, while my head said the local option was best.  I’m a practical sort and clearly my head won out.  I think largely because having my friends and family around will be invaluable.

Before I knew it, the start of medical school was here and I’m now almost finished my second week.  In the last couple of weeks I have run the gamut of emotions from excited to nervous, confident to terrified.  Mostly though, the last couple of weeks have really eased me into the course and I’m excited to get into the first real module next week (my course has two weeks of introductory lectures).

I am humbled by the generosity of past students who have shared with me not only copious amounts of data (past exams, notes, useful youtube videos etc.) but also their time.  The second year students have organised not only peer tutoring, but dedicated anatomy tutoring and I am so grateful for the extra assistance and advice provided.

The campus itself is absolutely beautiful and the library incredible – it is unlike any library I have ever seen before.  There is so many computers and study spaces. Everyone is so friendly and helpful.  On my first day, the security guard waved at me as I drove past (at first I was freaked out wondering what I had done wrong!) and then later gave me directions to the room I needed to find.  I’m feeling very comfortable with my choice, even if it was initially made out of practicality.

Tomorrow, our medical society is holding their welcome, with lots of prizes on offer including Littmann stethoscopes, Oxford handbooks, Clinical Examination books and numerous vouchers and the like.  I’m looking forward to meeting more of my cohort and hopeful that I may be lucky enough to win something awesome, because really, what student doesn’t love a freebie?  That’s it for now, but I hope to update again on the weekend in a bit more depth about the beginning of medical school.  Stay tuned for more adventures of selenocentric, medical student.  😉

Leave a Reply

